What Are The Penalties For Reckless Driving in Virginia?
If you are stopped for speeding along Interstate 64, Interstate 264 or I-95, you may worry about a reckless driving charge. In terms of speed-related offenses, reckless driving is typically classified as 20 mph over the posted speed limit or 80 mph (whichever comes first).
According to the Commonwealth of Virginia code § 46.2-852, reckless driving is characterized by “….any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person…” If you’re thinking that this is a fairly broad definition, you’re right. In addition to speed, you can be charged with reckless in Virginia based on a car accident, passing a school bus or emergency vehicle, or simply driving in a way that an officer determines as careless. What many people do not know is that a reckless driving charge is in the same class as a DUI. It is considered a class 1 misdemeanor in the eye of the law, and because of that if may bring serious consequences. Some these consequences include:
- License suspension or revocation for up to 6 months.
- Up to $2,500 in fines.
- 12 months maximum jail time
- Demerit points added to driving record (6 points)
- Other penalties based on past driving record
Can I Fight a Reckless Driving Ticket?
If you have received a traffic violation for reckless driving in the state of Virginia, don’t go to court alone! You could be facing significant penalties that you may not even realize exist. It’s not just a traffic ticket!
While we can’t promise that if you fight your ticket that it will be dismissed, it is very important to hire a competent attorney to represent your interests. The Commonwealth has an attorney whose job it is prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. You need a lawyer that knows how to find exceptions within the law that may eliminate the charge or reduce the sentence. Depending on the reason for the reckless driving ticket (speed, driving too fast for weather conditions, car accident), there are a number of ways for an attorney to contest the charge.
- Speedometer calibration
- Radar calibration
- Speed limit ambiguity
- Location ambiguity
The bottom line is this: If you receive a ticket for reckless driving anywhere in the state of Virginia, you should protect your rights and reputation by hiring a qualified reckless driving attorney. At Virginia Beach Law Group, we aggressively defend our clients against the Commonwealth and will work to get you the best outcome.
Our team offers a FREE traffic consultation…don’t wait to call us. Get the support you need. Contact us today to speak to an attorney.