Thursday, 21 November 2019

FOLLOW  | google plusfacebooktwitterlinkedinyt | CONTACT US

vblg-subscribe-now

Driving With a Suspended License in Virginia

Were you caught operating a motor vehicle without driving privileges? According to Virginia state code 46.2-301, Subsections C and D, driving on a suspended or revoked license in the Commonwealth of Virginia is a serious offense.

 The code states: “C. A violation of subsection B is a Class 1 misdemeanor. A third or subsequent offense occurring within a 10-year period shall include a mandatory minimum term of confinement in jail of 10 days

D. Upon violation of subsection B, the court shall suspend the person’s license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle for the same period for which it had been previously suspended or revoked. In the even the person violated subsection B by driving during a period of suspension or revocation which was not for a definite period of time, the court shall suspend the person’s license, permit or privilege to drive for an additional period not to exceed 90 days, to commence upon the expiration of the previous suspension or revocation to commence immediately if the previous suspension or revocation has expired.”

A driver’s license can be suspended as a result of the following criminal convictions:

  • Reckless driving
  • DUI/DWI
  • Drug convictions
  • Certain felonies
  • Not stopping at the scene of an accident
  • Excessive points on a driving record
  • Failure to pay criminal or traffic court fines within 15 days
  • Child support delinquency
  • Not completing a court-ordered driver improvement program

Failure to comply with the court-mandated term of suspension or revocation is a Class 1 Misdemeanor that can result in up to a year of of jail time, up to $2,500 in fines and an additional suspension period.

If you have been charged with driving on a suspended license in the state of Virginia, you need smart legal representation. With the right attorneys by your side, you have a fighting chance at minimizing fines and penalties and winning your driving privileges back. Call the traffic attorneys at Virginia Beach Law Group today at (757) 486-4529  for a free case consultation or schedule an appointment with an attorney below.

Get Help Now!